[Q&A] Jang Hyunseung, “IF YOU DON’T HAVE THE TALENT, WIN AS A TRAINEE”

Q1: You had your failure displayed to the public before. Did anything happen after?
A: Yes, I learned a lot from failure. Even though I know that never failing is even better. Lately, seeing the trainees preparing to be singers, I know that I have changed. I can see amazing talents drawn across the faces of the young trainees.

Q2: You are also talented, why can’t you accept that?
A: I’m not born with talent. What I have isn’t a talent too. Because I’m not born with talent, to improve singing and dancing skills, there’s no choice but to win by practicing.

Q3: I heard that from eating to being in the waiting room, you listen to music.
A: To me, there’s no way other than working hard. This is all for my skills. I have to take all the chances I get.

Q4: Director Hong Seung Seong thinks that the first challenge was to open up your heart.
A: When coming to CUBE, I tried to open my heart as determined who I was there. Because a lot of staffs including Director helped, I could adapt little by little.

Q5: Director Hong Seung Seong sees that you are the member with the most aegyo. This is really surprising.
A: Actually, I don’t do aegyo. In contrast, it is my plainness. Maybe I have something different from the other members, but Director sees it as aegyo.

Q6: In the future, what field do you want to try?
A: Not that I think of other kinds of activities or art negatively, but right now, I don’t think any of them suit me. Though I always want to try acting, I want to stabilize my position as a singer first. I haven’t prepared much so I hope my popularity will stay for a long time.

Q7: If you are doing individual activities, beside acting, what do you want to develop other than dancing?
A: Despite liking dancing, I don’t have the ability to make choreography. As a singer-dancer, to make a perfect stage act, and for that I have to learn dancing seriously. Being interested in dancing doesn’t mean I’m a dancer. As a singer, I still have to dance. I want to dance with exquisite music to show a cool stage act. Thus, I have to work harder.

Q8: With BEAST’s performance right now, are you satisfied with your performance, Jang Hyunseung?
A: Honestly, I am not. People like BEAST’s music and we’ve worked hard for that. Although I’m proud, my own ambition doesn’t end here. Other members also have their preference but I like African-American music. I search for musician videos from that genre because I want to try that kind of music. If I have the chance, I want to make an African-American music album. I have to!

Q9: You don’t want to participate more in the album?
A: Up until now, I think I’m not capable to participate in my album yet. I consider investing my time in showing the best performance on the stage. I also listen to advices from senior singers. I used to think that I have to spend more time in dancing and singing. In order to be an idol really loved by people for a long time, I know I want to be a songwriter and make music. With that music, I have to develop into an artist showing a more of a natural music.

Q10: So, in order to participate more, you will work little by little?
A: I think I have to read more. That’s why I bought some essay books recently. I bought it to help writing song lyrics. I heard that experiencing a lot or things and reading books can improve my musical ability naturally.

Q11: It seems like your style is always your motivation to not quickly feel satisfied with yourself?
A: I’m not always like that. I understand very well how to console myself. I can also find the strength when I need to praise myself. When practicing, I check over before finishing my shot, and monitor all my broadcast. If I think it is good, then I will praise myself. Moreover, I try to introspect myself and accept my weakness to make it cooler.

Q12: What do you expect from Director Hong Seung Seong?
A: It would be nice if in the future he can give me more guidance so that I can improve more in music.

CREDITS: There’ll Be No Spotlight If You Stop Now (SOURCE); LadyPsyche & YONGISM @ B2STRISING (TRANS)

TAKE OUT WITH FULL AND PROPER CREDITS

Leave a comment