[Q&A] Yong Junhyung, “IT’S OVERWHELMING TO BE LEFT WITH THE LAST OPPONENT TO OVERTHROW”

Q1: What did you do when Director Hong Seung Seong pointed out your weaknesses?
A: Director Hong didn’t like my presence. Although I am still young now, back then I was younger and I didn’t understand a lot of things. Each monthly evaluation, I wanted better results so I practiced harder. It really depressed me because I knew that Director Hong had a negative image towards me and I didn’t want him to underestimate my abilities. Honestly, I didn’t know how Director Hong told me my weaknesses, but because he saw all my weaknesses, I practiced even more.

Q2: What did you think when you were temporarily “free” of CUBECUBE?
A: Since my trainee days, I thought of Shinsadong Tiger not just as a composer but as a brother. Tiger hyung also had a difficult time training as a singer. Because of that, he tried to understand my complaints and loneliness. Nevertheless, I’d seen failure. So, in the end, if I couldn’t hold on to CUBE, I might have had to give up my dream of being a singer. This matter was very important to me and I thought about “stopping right here right now” a lot. But instead of giving up, I practiced alone and sincerely asked Director Hong for another chance.

Q3: When you felt lonely, what did you do?
A: I went to another practice room, or I practiced at home. One day, I called Director Hong. I kept believing and practicing, and then a sudden wave hit me. Director Hong asked me to come back and gave me exactly a month. In that time, I tried to practice more seriously and earnestly. When there was an unsatisfying part, he wouldn’t let me come back or just end up calling the other members to fill in. Since then, I really practiced hard. But then you might wonder why I chose this path spending a lot of time while still remaining invisible? Back then I regretted it a lot and felt bitter. Yet, practicing with the other members allowed me to pull through those difficult times.

Q4: What did you feel when Director Hong texted you to practice more and leave the management?
A: I received the text when I got home. That day, I drank a lot. When one of the trainees would be eliminated and every hyungs from the management team gathered together. So I was comfortable and had a good relationship with people from the office. I felt that it wasn’t fair when he had eliminated me. So I called Director Hong for the last time and it seemed that he was moved.

Q5: You had vocal training, but what did you think when you were positioned as a rapper of BEAST?
A: I have always been interested in rapping. In my previous company I couldn’t sing or rap. But in CUBECUBE, I tried challenging my interest. Fortunately, many people helped and supported me. In the company, I am a shy person so I couldn’t simply say, “I want to rap”. But Tiger hyung talked to the company for me. I really wanted to rap and compose. Back then. I thought that it would great if I could do that. I then told my wishes to Director Hong. Since then, I had that position. If there was anything I could do, it would be to tell people that I believe I can be a BEAST member.

Q6: What is your goal in music?
A: I want to be a producer. I want to be like the Director, making a team and choosing members. I don’t have the confidence to be a producer yet, but I have to try producing, making music and planning a full album. While preparing BEAST album, I felt satisfied with myself, even though it wasn’t on my own. Many great people participated in producing BEAST album. But one day I want to make it 100% my way. That’s why I have to make music that expresses my true color.

Q7: Making Yong Junhyung’s music, when do you think you can materialize that dream?
A: My tight schedules disable me from arranging music together with the hyungs. So, I have to do the arrangement between my schedules. Lately, I barely have time for myself. So, my work comes out slower than I plan it to be.

Q8: “I have to actively change myself”, as a BEAST member, what do you think is still lacking?
A : Other members have overcome my weaknesses talent wise so I don’t have to worry about that. I still have other weakness I have to fix, one of them is my pessimism. Also, suppressing feelings is not good too. When the feeling around me is peaceful, then I try to hide my anger. But I’ve been together with others for so long that they know me very well. I believe that I am the Yong Junhyung who still has to do everything sincerely and earnestly.

Q9: What do you like about CUBE?
A: There are so many bad memories from the previous company. I wanted to immediately stand on the stage, but I was very busy. Every day, I had to see my lawyers and went to the courts to settle things. Despite the bad condition in the previous company, I was surprised to see myself believing in people from CUBE. I want to say “Ah, there’s actually good people like this”. Now, I have a stable and comfortable life. I am really satisfied. Later, I want to keep being comfortable with these staffs.

CREDITS: There’ll Be No Spotlight If You Stop Now (SOURCE); LadyPsyche & YONGISM @ B2STRISING (TRANS)

TAKE OUT WITH FULL AND PROPER CREDITS

Leave a comment