[Q&A] Yoon Doojoon, “DON’T GIVE UP EASILY”

Q1: How did you feel when you were eliminated from the show “Hot Blood”?
A: Being in JYP for less than three months, I had appeared in the show. So, if I had won and debut immediately after that, I would have felt guilty to my friends. I tried my best, but still, failing hurt me very much. Of course I knew only how far my abilities could go so I could have accepted it easier and withdrew myself from it. But then later on it got harder. So eventually I went to practice with my peers, Junho and Chansung, who were going to debut as 2PM members. Since they were already training and getting ready, Lee Gikwang and I dealt with a lot of hard times going through the life as ordinary trainees.

Q2: It seems that you even had the urge to just quit everything.
A: There were many times when I wanted to quit. However I firmly decided continuing to be a trainee and I felt it was the time to look for someone. I practiced with the purpose of finding Teacher Cheyook. But then, I suddenly stopped the preparation to be a singer. My practice wasn’t going well too. I suffered a lot so I wanted to go back to the student life again. I questioned myself, “If I keep practicing earnestly, can I, like my friends, prepare for my dreams gradually?” I regretted a lot asking myself that question. However, I continued to receive encouragements from my teachers and friends from school when preparing to be a singer. That’s why when I was eliminated from “Hot Blood”, I didn’t let my pride down like I had before. Even though I went away, I still wanted to come back with a slightly more decent performance. Making a dream come true or not is not the issue for me. I just want to show my stronger side of myself to people who have supported me.

Q3: Before debuting, what did you think when you were doing activities as AJ’s backup dancer?
A: As of January 2009, before deciding 4Minute members, there were Junhyung, Kikwang, Yoseob and I in CUBE. We were supposed to debut with four members at that time. But one day, I heard from the company that I would be Kikwang’s backup dancer. So Kikwang debuted alone, and we danced behind him. This situation made us so confused. I was so busy that I couldn’t even go home. I slept at a dancer hyung’s house, or sometimes even at the saunas. That was the most miserable moment in my life. When I think about it now, I can smile remembering those times because I have made many beautiful memories with the other members. Although it was so difficult that I wanted to quit, I was in the same position as the other members. It became a motivation for me because we had to fight together and hold on together. Yoseob said one time that there’s no one else with as much as determination and willingness as we had. Our parent gave us encouragement and strength, but they didn’t know our feelings and the condition we were in so they couldn’t encourage us that much. Yoseob, Kikwang, and Junhyung, really had a lot of strength.

Q4: Didn’t your failure give you the opportunity to rise up to your desired position?
A: Trainee life wasn’t only for two years. My friends who had been practicing for longer time had gone through their own tests then too. Despite my brief training period, I could have passed through all those tests. When I think about it now, I can still learn and feel a lot of things from that brief period. I feel very grateful for it.

Q5: Since being in JYP, Director Hong Seung Seong has believed in Yoon Doojoon, then how about yourself?
A: Director had thought about making me a 2AM member because he believed in me. I’m very grateful to him. I also left JYP when Director also established CUBE. Since there was no reason to reject him, I quickly held on to Director’s hand. I was sure that I wasn’t wasting my time because it was a very thought out decision.

Q6: There sure would be arguments in the group. I’m curious, as a leader, how do you handle that kind of situation?
A: All singers can’t do whatever they want. The company put in a lot of consideration for us and Director also likes to communicate with the youngsters. However, each of us has our own preference and discontentment. There’s music we want to do and there’s a musical difference in what we find suitable to our own personality. Our first album reflects our ideas. Our preparation time was short so Director was worried about it. He encouraged us to fill our album more colorfully.

Q7: After debuting, what do you think is the most exhausting?
A: The tight schedule is the most tiresome to me. I want to meet my friends and rest, but we don’t have personal time at all. This is the path I’ve chosen so of course I can’t have free time. Our body and heart are tired. We do a lot of activities including acting so some of us absolutely have no personal time.

Q8: Are you content with your life now?
A: Actually I’m happy but I’m also suffering. Looking forward, BEAST activities now help us to develop a lot for the future. I’m also happy that we can move forward, step by step. But, seeing my days far away, I really feel tired. But in the end, I want to sincerely thank my dream for making me how I am now.

Q9: Is acting interesting?
A: Acting is really interesting. I can live different lives through it. As a singer, I think it really helps me to express my music. Having the foundation to act in the future is exhilarating. But as a singer, I think I still have a lot of weaknesses. That’s why I want to work harder, although I don’t even have the time to act. I know that I should focus on “BEAST’s Yoon Doojoon,” but I don’t know. It’s very difficult not being able to control my own wish.

Q10 : In the future, do you want to act again?
A: I want to be remembered as BEAST as long as I can. But if the time comes, I have to prepare for my own future. Thus, I want to act. That’s an interesting work. But right now I want to learn more and work harder as BEAST.

Q11: I want to know your plans on music.
A: I want to develop my skills. I want to make a more complete BEAST album. In the first album, I did not participate as much as I wanted to. If I had had the time, I could have practiced the choreography more, and could have enhanced my vocal. But I had little time to do all that. It’s really a pity. I hope in the next album I can do all that.

Q12: What makes you want to thank Director Hong Seung Seong?
A: I want to thank him for making me a member of BEAST until now. It wasn’t easy for him to make this decision. I also want to thank him for believing and trusting us. He will be listening to the stories of the six of us from the interview. So, I am thankful to him for encouraging us and making us another album.

Q13: What do you want to tell to those who dream to be singers?
A: Although skill is important, luck is also important. Compared with the others, I’m the luckiest. Trying out an open audition for the first time, I feel that I’m very lucky for passing that huge competition. I didn’t know anything at that time. I wasn’t even nervous and I did it without feeling burdened. In addition, looking at the other members, no one in the group gives up easily. Of course they gave up before, but they recovered fast to reach their dreams. To other junior singers, if you don’t give up and work hard to the end, then you will eventually get the position you want. Be satisfied with yourself and moreover, always hope for success. Right now there might be a lot of suffering, but later you will get the compensation from your sacrifices.

CREDITS: There’ll Be No Spotlight If You Stop Now (SOURCE); LadyPsyche & YONGISM @ B2STRISING (TRANS)

TAKE OUT WITH FULL AND PROPER CREDITS!

Leave a comment